contents of kakao Privacy Philosophy

Privacy Policy Advisory Committee

Kakao has organized and is operating the Privacy Policy Advisory Committee to strengthen our policies on privacy and acquire opinions and insight from external experts. The Privacy Policy Advisory Committee consists of professionals in various fields, including law, academia, policies and technology. Regular and irregular meetings are held more than four (4) times a year for objective assessments of Kakao’s privacy policy and security efforts. The committee will also provide consultation on privacy policies, including providing the recent trend on privacy and related regulations and guidance for directions the company should take in the future.

The Privacy Policy Advisory Committee Members

ChairpersonTai Myoung Chung
(Professor, Department of Software, Sungkyunkwan University)
Professor Chung is an expert in IT information security who has many in-depth research achievements and active participation in various projects. He served as the President of the Korea Chief Privacy Officers' Forum and the Vice Chairman of the OECD Working Party on Security and Privacy in the Digital Economy (SPDE). He is currently studying and developing protocols and architectures related to information protection and security management systems.
  • Committee Member Sinook Kang
    (Attorney at Shin & Kim law firm)
    Mr. Sinook Kang is a legal expert in the fields of broadcasting, telecommunications, privacy and internet. Mr. Kang worked for the Korea Communications Commission (KCC) and the Ministry of Science, ICT and Future Planning (MSIP) prior to joining the Shin & Kim law firm where he currently serves as a partner and the head of the Technology, Media & Telecommunications (TMT) team.
  • Committee Member Hyun Kyung Kim
    (Professor, Graduate School of IT Policy, Seoul National University of Science and Technology)
    Professor Hyun Kyung Kim is an expert in the fields of intellectual property rights, telecommunications law, and information laws. She is also serving as a mediator of the Personal Information Dispute Mediation Committee and a consultant to the Korea Communications Commission with regard to the interpretation of personal information related legislations.
  • Committee Member Hyoung Sik Kim
    (Professor, College of Software, Sungkyunkwan University)
    Professor Hyung Sik Kim is actively involved in researches on user authentication, access control and privacy protection, with an aim to maintain the integrity of a security system and improve usability at the same time.
  • Committee Member Huy Kang Kim
    (Professor at Korea University Graduate School of Information Security)
    Professor Huy Kang Kim is an expert in the sectors of hacking and security technology. He has acted as a facilitator between academia and industry with his ample practical experience in cyber security at online game companies. Professor Kim has conducted researches focused on internet services such as detecting online game bots and online payment frauds. He currently leads the Hacking and Countermeasure Research Lab of Korea University with a focus on vehicle security issues.
  • Committee Member Jungmihn Ahn
    (Professor, Division of Law and Public Administration, Hallym University)
    Professor Ahn is actively establishing systems to protect broadcast telecommunication service users and improve related laws and regulations, and conducting research on corporate ethics and social responsibilities of companies.
  • Committee Member Byoung Cheol Oh
    (Professor at Yonsei University Law School)
    Professor Byoung Cheol Oh is an expert in telecommunications law. He holds two doctorate degrees, one in law and the other in information and telecommunications. Professor Oh currently serves as a member of the Personal Information Legislation Advisory Committee at the Korea Communications Commission (KCC).